An error (Object reference not set to an instance of an object.) was encountered trying to format content from PageUrl=/en/Static-Content/alert.htm Close Message
Milwaukee Public Schools Logo: High-quality school options for 3-year-olds to high school seniors
Main Content

Milwaukee Public Schools students and teachers honored by Herb Kohl Educational Foundation

Herb Kohl logoHonorees among 200 students and more than 100 educators throughout Wisconsin

MILWAUKEE (April 6, 2021) -- Milwaukee Public Schools announced the selection of its 11 teachers and 13 students who will receive honors and scholarship money from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation. The honorees are among 200 graduating seniors, 101 teachers, and 16 principals across Wisconsin.

Teacher Fellowship Honorees

  • Megan Geddes, Highland Community School
  • Julie Hapeman, Milwaukee Public Schools District Office
  • Andrew Lazzari, Audubon High School
  • Joan Masek, Hamilton High School
  • Stephanie Meyer, Hamilton High School
  • Melissa Ray, Milwaukee Excellence Charter School
  • Danielle Robinson, Brown Street Academy
  • Alicia Steiner, Highland Community School
  • Zachary Tillman, Reagan High School
  • Matt Wood, Reagan High School
  • Michelle Young, Golda Meir School

In addition, 13 MPS students have been selected as recipients in two scholarship categories.

Excellence Scholarship Recipients

  • Catherine Fink, Milwaukee School of Languages
  • Maya Groser, Rufus King International High School
  • Isabella Heller de Messer, Rufus King International High School
  • Hannah Hippe, Rufus King International High School
  • Meng Moua, Rufus King International High School
  • Iman Snobar, Reagan High School

Initiative Scholarship Recipients

  • Daevion Alexander, Obama School of Career & Technical Education
  • Darnell Burrell, Vincent High School
  • Tiyonna Duckworth, North Division High School
  • Anya Ramos, Audubon High School
  • Quashawn Saygo, Banner Preparatory School
  • Taniyra Spinks, Pulaski High School
  • Narielle Tyler, MacDowell Montessori School

Excellence Scholarship recipients demonstrate academic excellence, high motivation, and a broad range of activity and leadership. Initiative Scholarship recipients demonstrate initiative in school and strong promise for success in college and beyond. Winners in both categories receive a $10,000 scholarship.

Teacher Fellowship recipients are chosen for leadership, service, and a superior ability to inspire a love of learning in students. These honors come with a $6,000 award.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist, and businessman, in 1990. To date, the foundation has awarded $25.2 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

Please wait while we gather your results.


Earl Arms, Media Relations Manager

Shahree Douglas, Director Communications & Outreach

About Milwaukee Public Schools

Milwaukee Public Schools is committed to accelerating student achievement, building positive relationships between youth and adults and cultivating leadership at all levels. The district’s commitment to improvement continues to show results:

  • Ninety percent of 2019-20 budget dollars go directly to classrooms;
  • The MPS Class of 2018 earned $86.2 million in scholarships; and
  • MPS is home to five of the state and nation's top high schools according to U.S. News and World Report.

Learn More

© Milwaukee Public Schools 2021
To top