An error (Object reference not set to an instance of an object.) was encountered trying to format content from PageUrl=/en/Static-Content/alert.htm Close Message
Milwaukee Public Schools Logo: High-quality school options for 3-year-olds to high school seniors
Main Content

Title I Public

The purpose of Title I is to ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach, at a minimum, proficiency on the challenging Common Core State Standards and state academic assessments. In order to achieve this purpose each Title I school must have a comprehensive school improvement plan (SIP) based on an annual needs assessment. The comprehensive school improvement plan should be developed in collaboration with parents and supported by local Board funds along with Title funding.

Milwaukee Public Schools has different types of public schools; each with various methods of implementing Title I.

Types of Public Schools:

  1. Traditional public
  2. Non-instrumentality charter
  3. Partnership schools

Types of Title I Programming:

  1.  Schools that have an enrollment with at least 40% of the students living in poverty may apply for Title I schoolwide status.
  2.  Schools that have a minimum 35% of the students living in poverty may provide a Title I targeted assistance program.
Please wait while we gather your results.

State & Federal Programs

Central Services - Rooms 1 and 2

5225 W. Vliet Street - Milwaukee, WI 53208

State and Federal Programs Contact Information:

Main: 414-475-8009

Shelley Perkins - Director of Department of State and Federal Programs

Joseph Hill - ESEA Coordination & Compliance Manager II

Dr. Mora Anderson- ESEA Non-Public Supervisor I

Mark Lawrence - ESEA Title I Non-Public Coordinator III

Debra Hickey - ESEA Title I Non-Public Coordinator III

Michael Betts - ESEA Assistant II

Cynthia Mendoza - ESEA Administrative Assistant III

Denise Fields- State and Federal Programs, Manager

Megan Burk - Grants Specialist I

Jennifer Butzbach - Grants Specialist I

Sophia Smith - Grants Coordinator I

Kim Callies - Budget Coordinator III

Tatiana Chaplin - Budget Analyst I


© Milwaukee Public Schools 2023
To top